Why So #@%!’n Expensive?!

With what happened back in late 2008 this doesn’t seem to be something new. But even to this day after almost 3 years, billions of tax-payers dollars pumped into the economy, buying out companies, merging power houses, and government take overs, we still haven’t been able to live off the good ol’ days prior to ’08. I’m not an economist or a financial forecaster of any kind so I may be a bit rash to assume 3 years is enough. Five, maybe ten years at best.

But you start to wonder, has the economy really effected why we end up paying more and why there’s been multiple price changes each year? I can not and will not answer that. However I have noticed that somethings haven’t changed. Slightly in the circle of business, I wouldn’t dare criticize my competitors or buyers or anyone else that are (potentially) related to my entrepreneurship.

With that said, I’m starting to sense that many outlets have started to use that event as a means to increase prices, under observation of course. Speaking for myself, having to have worked under a salary since right before the economy stepped in a pile of poop, there was nothing noticeably different in the way I spent my money or the products I usually bought. Gradually the prices started to sneak up from behind us…then BAM $four for a tiny “gourmet” burger, smaller in size than In & Out burger and not quite sure what was gourmet about it besides its size, $three drinks (non-alcoholic) and that was excluding the truffle fries for just as much as the burger. This was no hotel restaurant or a 5-star luncheon, it was just another establishment claiming its originality via price (and yelp).

One thought on “Why So #@%!’n Expensive?!

  1. Pingback: Authenticity…Just a Myth? | vici mia vita

Leave a Reply

